“Racing Tailfin” from Mercedes-Benz Classic to compete in the FHR Endurance Cup at the 10th Westphalia Trophy event

“Racing Tailfin” from Mercedes-Benz Classic to compete in the FHR Endurance Cup at the 10th Westphalia Trophy event
September 2014
  • Works racing car from Mercedes-Benz Classic to take part in the two-hour race for the Dunlop FHR Endurance Cup
  • 10th ADAC Westphalia Trophy to be held on the Nürburgring from 17 to 19 October 2014
  • Stuttgart-based brand supports historical motor sport with the Mercedes-Benz 220 SE (W 111) works racing car
The “Racing Tailfin” returns to the Nürburgring: at the ADAC Westphalia Trophy, to be held for the tenth time between 17 and 19 October 2014, the works racing car from Mercedes-Benz Classic will be joining the starting line-up for the Dunlop FHR Endurance Cup. Since its premiere in 2011, this Mercedes-Benz 220 SE from the W 111 model series, prepared by Mercedes-Benz Classic for participation in historical motor racing activities, has been making its mark on the race circuit.
The saloon is just one of the stars of the Endurance races organised by the Fahrergemeinschaft Historischer Rennsport e. V. (FHR – German Drivers’ Association for Historical Motor Racing). The appearances of the almost standard-production works racing car offer a present-day reminder of the major successes enjoyed by Mercedes-Benz in the long-distance challenges of the 1960s. Back then, the 220 SE (W 111) and 300 SE (W 112) “Tailfin” saloons achieved outstanding victories in rallies and races all over the world. As a result, every time the Mercedes-Benz 220 SE works racing car starts in a race, it transports us back to the golden age of motor racing.
The Motorsportclub Bork, organisers of the Westphalia Trophy, are expecting more than 500 vehicles this year, which will be competing on the Nürburgring in eleven different racing series. Their scope encompasses historical touring cars and young classics, as well as current sports car models. The races will take place both on the Grand Prix circuit and on the full circuit, including the famous North Loop.
The starting line-up for the Dunlop FHR Endurance Cup includes GT vehicles and touring cars built between 1947 and 1975. The regulations for the race series are essentially based on the standards applicable to the homologation of the original historical models. This ensures the absolutely authentic and genuine quality of the racing cars involved, with the result that these classic racers provide a unique perspective on the richly faceted history of motor sport for both drivers and spectators.
While the “Racing Tailfin” appears on the race circuit today as a fascinating reminder of a bygone era, back in the 1960s these luxury-class saloons from the Stuttgart-based brand were among the most successful competitors in rallies and endurance races all over the world. In 1960, Mercedes-Benz scored a one-two-three victory with the 220 SE in the legendary Monte Carlo Rally, marking the beginning of a five-year period during which the Mercedes-Benz drivers won one race after another – among them the Touring Car Grand Prix of Argentina four years in a row from 1961 to 1964 and the European Rally Championship in 1960 and 1962. The last major victory for the 220 SE in the 1960s was Ewy Rosqvist’s win in the Touring Car Grand Prix of Argentina in 1962. The success story was continued from 1963 on by the 300 SE.
Westphalia Trophy 2014: the Mercedes-Benz Classic vehicle
Mercedes-Benz 220 SE racing touring car (W 111)
Staying true to the 1960s, this competition vehicle is technically extremely close to the series-production model. The customary modifications include the reinforcement of chassis elements and body components, an increase in the size of the fuel tank and optimisation of the engine characteristics.
Technical data for the Mercedes-Benz 220 SE (W 111)
Production period:   1959-1965
Cylinders:                  6/in-line
Displacement:          2,195 cubic centimetres
Output:                       88 kW (120 hp)
Top speed:               approx. 170 km/h
Did you already know? In November 1964 Mercedes-Benz secured a historic one-two-three victory in the Argentinian Touring Car Grand Prix with its 300 SE (W 112) luxury-class saloon, marking its fourth win in successive years in the world’s toughest long-distance race. Eugen Böhringer and Klaus Kaiser won the race ahead of Dieter Glemser/Martin Braungart and Ewy Rosqvist/Eva-Maria Falk.