Laureus World Sports Awards 2016: Back-to Back Laureus Awards for Djokovic

Laureus World Sports Awards 2016: Back-to Back Laureus Awards for Djokovic

Apr 18, 2016
  • Double success for rugby as All Blacks and Dan Carter win Awards
  • Laureus Breakthrough of the Year Award won by golfer Jordan Spieth
  • Formula One legend Niki Lauda receives Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Record third Laureus Disability Award for Brazil’s Daniel Dias
  • Laureus Action Sports Award goes to Ironman Jan Frodeno
  • Global TV au dience watches Laureus Awards Ceremony in Berlin

  • TV News Access and Web Edit links at end of press release

Serena Williams is celebrating another highlight in her amazing career after winning a record-equalling fourth Laureus World Sports Award. And on a great night for tennis, Novak Djokovic was honoured with the Laureus World Sportsman Award for the second straight year and for the third time in his career.

Serena, the world’s top women’s tennis player, was named Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year again, after a sparkling 2015 in which she won three Grand Slams.

Laureus Academy Member Boris Becker, now Djokovic’s coach, said: “He had a great year again. He's played 88 matches, has won 82, He won three out of the four Grand Slams, reached the final of the French Open, he’s won seven other tournaments. Very few players, if any, had a year like that.”

There was a special posthumous Laureus Spirit of Sport Award to celebrate the life of Johan Cruyff, who died in March. It was received by his son Jordi Cruyff.

On a glittering evening in Berlin that recognised the outstanding sporting achievements of 2015, rugby was the other big winner with the All Blacks taking the Laureus Team Award and Dan Carter receiving the Laureus Comeback of the Year Award, following the team’s Rugby World Cup success.

Carter said: “It’s nice to be recognised for the year I had in 2015. It was a very special year, not only for me, but also for the All Blacks and to be a part of that was amazing.”

To the delight of the Berlin audience, Germany’s Jan Frodeno, the first man to win both the Ironman World Championship and an Olympic triathlon gold medal, was presented with the Laureus Action Sports Award, while golfer Jordan Spieth won the Laureus Breakthrough of the Year Award.

Spieth said: “Thank you so much to the Laureus Academy. Just to know a couple of you is an honour. For me it’s unique. We’re used to being recognised in the golfing community but this Award recognises us around the world to all of sport and it’s something that’s very difficult to put into words.”

Brazilian Paralympic swimmer Daniel Dias won his third Laureus Disability Award, another record. Dias, who is one of Brazil’s big hopes for gold medals the Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro in September, said: “This is another great honour for me and gives me great encouragement, as we are now in the build-up to the Paralympic Games in Rio. To think I have won win three Laureus Awards, something only managed by other sportsmen like Roger Federer, Usain Bolt and Kelly Slater, is quite overwhelming.”

Three-time Formula One world champion Niki Lauda, now Non-Executive Chairman of the Mercedes AMG Petronas team, received the Laureus Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Laureus Academy named the recipient of the Laureus Sport for Good Award: the football-based Moving the Goalposts community project in Kenya.

The Laureus World Sports Awards are the premier honours on the international sporting calendar. The winners are chosen by the Laureus World Sports Academy, the ultimate sports jury, made up of more than 50 of the greatest living sportsmen and sportswomen.

The Laureus World Sports Awards supports Laureus Sport for Good by showcasing the incredible work it does to transform the lives of individuals and communities around the world by using the power of sport as a tool to combat challenging social issues. Since its inception, Laureus Sport for Good has raised over €100 million and supported over 150 projects worldwide which use sport to tackle violence, discrimination and disadvantage. Laureus Sport for Good has helped to improve the lives of millions of young people in over 35 countries and is proving that sport can change the world.

The Laureus World Sports Awards Ceremony, hosted by Hollywood actor Bill Murray at the Messe Berlin Palais am Funkturm, is broadcast to 160 countries.

Laureus World Sports Awards were announced in seven categories.

Laureus World Sportsman of the Year: Novak Djokovic
Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year: Serena Williams
Laureus World Team of the Year: All Blacks
Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year: Jordan Spieth
Laureus World Comeback of the Year: Dan Carter
Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability: Daniel Dias
Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year: Jan Frodeno

There were three additional Award winners: the Laureus Spirit of Sport Award was presented posthumously to legendary Dutch footballer Johan Cruyff, who died last month; the Laureus Lifetime Achievement Award was given to three-time Formula One world champion Niki Lauda and the Laureus Sport for Good Award went to Kenya’s Moving the Goalposts football project.

For full biographies of Winners and Nominees go to

Three new members were welcomed to the Laureus World Sports Academy during the Awards Ceremony – German skier Maria Höfl-Riesch, Spanish football legend Raul and Irish rugby star Brian O’D riscoll.

Members of the Laureus World Sports Academy, Ambassadors and other guests present in Berlin, included: Boris Becker, Oliver Bierhoff, Ole Bischof, Stefan Blöcher, Fredi Bobic, Marie Bochet, Ian Botham, Martin Braxenthaler, Bob Burnquist, Flavio Canto, Cafu, Nadia Comaneci, David Coulthard, Liu Cuiqing, Alessandro Del Piero, Deng Yaping, Marcel Desailly, Kapil Dev, Genzebe Dibaba, Mick Doohan, Morné du Plessis, Pieter du Preez, Omara Durand, Mick Fanning, Luis Figo, Anna Fenninger, Sean Fitzpatrick, Cathy Freeman, Jan Frodeno, Tanni Grey-Thompson, Bryan Habana, Anthony Joshua Marvelous Marvin Hagler, Mika Hakkinen, Regina Halmich, Lewis Hamilton, Maria Höfl-Riesch, Chris Hoy, Nadine Kessler, Kip Keino, Chloe Kim, Christa Kinshofer, Franz Klammer, Philip Köster, Nia Künzer, Niki Lauda, Jens Lehmann, Tegla Loroupe, Joachim Löw, Garrett McNamara, Edwin Moses, Robby Naish, Ilie Nastase, Alexey Nemov, Brian O’Driscoll, Victoria Pendleton, Hugo Porta, Carles Puyol, Raul, Steve Redgrave, Jamie Redknapp, Markus Rehm, Nico Rosberg, David Rudisha, Anna Schaffelhuber, Axel Schulz, Daley Thompson, Pascal Wehrlein, Steve Waugh, Katarina Witt, Toto Wolff, Kathi Wörndl.